Henry Shaw Cactus and Succulent Society Sharing the Study of Succulents and Cacti Since 1942 HSCSS Annual Show & Cactus Sale
Plant of the Month - Link

Succulent Resources


From the Digest


HSCSS Library

Link to Forum

Henry Shaw
Cactus and
Succulent Society

A CSSA Chapter
St. Louis, Missouri
www.hscactus.org
 
[ CONTACTS ]


SUCCULENT RESOURCES

Henry Shaw Cactus and Succulent Society members have collectively accumulated many years of experience in selecting and raising cacti and succulents. Some of their knowledge is reflected in the Plant of the Month pages, which provide background and growing tips for various species.
 
Click the links below for further information on cacti and succulents. To suggest additional links, contact Tom Degnan at tdegnan01@gmail.com.
 
To ask specific cacti and succulent questions, contact Mike Hellmann -- cactus1803@yahoo.com, or the Plant Doctor (plantinformation@mobot.org) at the Kemper Center for Home Gardening at Missouri Botanical Garden. Members can also log in to the HSCSS Online Forum to discuss plant concerns and other topics.
 
General Cultivation Information
(Cacti and Succulents as House Plants)

Common Cacti and Succulents

Links -- Plant Culture

Bihrmann's Caudiciforms -- http://www.bihrmann.com/caudiciforms/
Caudiciforms/Fat Plants -- http://davesgarden.com/guides/articles/view/266/
Desert Tropicals -- http://www.desert-tropicals.com
The Succulent Plant Page -- http://www.succulent-plant.com/cultivation.html

Links -- Propagation

CSSA Seed Depot -- http://cssa.myshopify.com/collections/seed-depot
Guide to Seed Propagation -- http://www.mesagarden.com/#germination
Propagation Techniques -- http://www.cactus-and-succulents.com

Links -- Genus-Specific Information

Adenium -- http://adenium.tucsoncactus.org/cultivat.html
Ariocarpus -- http://www.living-rocks.com
Astrophytum -- http://www.incrediblecactus.com
Astrophytum -- http://www.astrobase.de
Copiapoa -- http://www.copiapoa.dk
Euphorbia -- http://www.euphorbia.de/indexe.htm
Haworthia Society -- http://www.haworthia.org
Haworthia -- http://www.alshaworthia.com/index_uk.htm
Haworthia, Gasteria, Stapeliads and South African Succulents --
http://www.kambroo.com/succulent_plant_nursery/
Mammillaria -- http://www.mammillarias.net
Mesemb Study Group -- http://www.mesemb.org
Mesem -- http://www.mesembs.com
Pachypodium -- http://www.pachypodium.org
Sempervivum, Echeveria -- http://www.drought-smart-plants.com
South African Plants -- http://www.plantzafrica.com
Tropical African Plants -- http://database.prota.org/search.htm

Links -- Winter-Hardy Plants

American West -- http://www.coldhardycactus.com
High-Country Gardens -- http://www.highcountrygardens.com/
perennial-plants/cacti-and-succulents

Intermountain Cactus -- http://www.intermountaincactus.com
Western Colorado -- http://www.ccss-online.org/pdf/DonsHardyCactus.pdf

Links -- Taxonomy

International Plant Names Index -- http://www.ipni.org
USDA Germplasm Resources Information Network -- http://www.ars-grin.gov

Links -- Conservation

CITES Endangered Species -- http://www.cites.org/eng/app/index.php
Field Collection Number Query -- http://ralph.cs.cf.ac.uk/Cacti/fieldno.html
Survey and Conservation Action Plan of Cactus and Succulent Plants (15mb) --
http://data.iucn.org/dbtw-wpd/edocs/1997-041.pdf

Links -- Succulent Societies

Cactus Mall Club List -- http://www.cactus-mall.com/clubs.html
British Cactus and Succulent Society -- http://www.bcss.org.uk
Cactus and Succulent Society of America -- http://www.cssainc.org
CSSA Affiliate Histories -- http://www.cssaarchives.com/AffiliateHistories.html
Succulent Society of South Africa -- http://www.succulentsociety.co.za

Links -- Botanical Gardens

Desert Botanical Garden -- Phoenix -- http://www.dbg.org
Missouri Botanical Garden -- http://www.mobot.org
Tucson Botanical Gardens -- http://www.tucsonbotanical.org

Links -- Growers

Arid Lands Greenhouses -- http://www.aridlands.com
The Cactus Collection -- http://www.cactuscollection.com
The Great Petaluma Desert -- http://www.gpdesert.com
Huntington Botanical Gardens -- ISI Plant Introductions --
http://www.huntington.org/BotanicalDiv/ISI2011/catalogintro.html
J & J Cactus and Succulents -- http://www.jjcactus-succulents.net
Living Stones Nursery -- http://www.lithops.net
Mesa Garden -- http://www.mesagarden.com
Out of Africa -- http://www.out-of-africa-plants.com
Rio Grande Cacti -- http://www.riograndecacti.com
Shoal Creek Succulents -- http://www.shoalcreeksucculents.com/Webasyst/shop/

Links -- Auction Stores

Susan Amoy -- http://stores.ebay.com/Amoy-Bonsai-and-Succulent-Plants?_trksid=p2047675.l25
Cactus Limon -- http://myworld.ebay.com/cactuslimon/
Cactus Man 2003 -- http://myworld.ebay.com/cactusman_2003/
Rare Flora -- http://myworld.ebay.com/rareflora/
Teedee Cacti -- http://myworld.ebay.com/teedeecacti/

Links -- Other Resources

The Amateur's Digest -- http://www.theamateursdigest.com
Cactus and Succulent Plant Mall -- http://www.cactus-mall.com
CactiGuide.com -- http://www.cactiguide.com
Cactus Explorers Club Journal -- http://www.cactusexplorers.org.uk/journal1.htm
Xerophilia -- http://www.cactuspro.com/biblio/en:xerophilia

 
HSCSS Events  |  Member Photos  |  Join HSCSS  |  Club History

Plant of the Month  |  Succulent Resources  |  From the Digest  |  Home